The leading Cyprological journal The Cyprus Review announces the results of its Annual Book Awards for books published in 2021.


A. History and Political Science

Scientific Committee: Emilios Solomou, Petros Papapolyviou, Michalis Kontos, Giorgos Charalambous, and Anastasia Yiangou.

The Stanley Kyriakides Award is conferred to Kostis Kokkinoftas for his book: Κύπρος και 1821 (Κέντρο Μελετών Ιεράς Μονής Κύκκου).

The Junior Researcher Award is conferred to Constantina Constantinou for her book: Ο Αντίκτυπος του Ελληνικού Εμφυλίου στην Κύπρο (Ρίζες).

B. Social Sciences  

Scientific Committee: Constantinos Phellas, Ioanna Hadjicosti, Stavroulla Soukara, Christina Hadjisoteriou, and Maria Hadjiathanasiou.

The Peter Loizos Award is conferred to Nicos Satsias for his book: Έναυσμα Πρόνοιας – Το ελάχιστο εγγυημένο εισόδημα στην Κύπρο (Hippasus).

Honourable Mention is conferred to Kyprianos Louis for his book: Επιχειρηματικότητα και Οικονομική Στρατηγική στην Κύπρο κατά το πρώτο μισό του 19 ου αιώνα: Η περίπτωση του Γεωργάκη Μαρκαντωνίδη (Κέντρο Επιστημονικών Ερευνών).


C. Law

Scientific Committee: Achilles Emilianides, Christos Papastylianos, Christia Middleton, Elias Stephanou, and Stergios Mitas.

The Constantinos Emilianides Award is conferred to Natasa Mavronicola for her book: Torture, Inhumanity and Degradation under Article 3 of the ECHR: Absolute Rights and Absolute Wrongs (Hart).

D. Lifetime Achievement Award

The Editor-in-Chief of the CR Christina Ioannou has decided, after careful review of the relevant suggestions, to confer the Lifetime Achievement Award to Kypros Chrysostomides in recognition of his significant body of published work, especially on the international aspects of the Cyprus Question.


Award Ceremony

The award ceremony will be held on 28.11.2022 at 18.30 at Unesco Amphitheatre.

RSVP by 25 November at [email protected]


The Call for External Nominations for the 2022 Book Awards is published concurrently with this Announcement: CRABA 2022 - Call for nominations for The Cyprus Review Annual Books Awards | Cyprus Review