The leading Cyprological journal The Cyprus Review (CR) announces the results of its Annual Book Awards in the categories ‘History and Political Science’ and ‘Social Sciences’ for books published in 2020. The results for the category ‘Law’ have been previously announced and are available here. The Editor-in-Chief of the CR would like to express her warm appreciation to all members of the respective Scientific Committees for their hard work.


A. History and Political Science

Scientific Committee: Emilios Solomou, Petros Papapolyviou, Michalis Kontos, Giorgos Charalambous, and Anastasia Yiangou


The Stanley Kyriakides Award in History and Political Science is conferred to: Constantinos Adamides, Securitization and Desecuritization Processes in Protracted Conflicts: The Case of Cyprus, Palgrave Macmillan.

The book examines the Cyprus conflict through the securitization framework, thus offering a more profound understanding on the forces that contribute to the perpetuation and intractability of the problem. It further develops new ideas on how securitization processes can be routinized and institutionalized, and how the mainstream top-down acts can co-exist with horizontal and bottom-up processes.


B. Social Sciences

Scientific Committee: Constantinos Phellas, Ioanna Hadjicosti, Stavroulla Soukara, Christina Hadjisoteriou, and Maria Hadjiathanasiou.


The Peter Loizos Award in Social Sciences is conferred to:

Μαρία Κ. Κουμαριανού, Κύπρος. Εθνογραφικό Ημερολόγιο και άλλες Σημειώσεις (Ελεύθερες Περιοχές – Κατεχόμενα – Μαρωνιτοχώρια) 2002-2010, Εκδόσεις Ηρόδοτος.

The book illuminates a Cypriot minority in a comprehensive and humane ethnographical manner, by focusing on the contribution of the Maronite community to the history and culture of Cyprus. The book is effectively an ethnographical diary that has the objective to transmit the knowledge and experience acquired through the author’s visits in Cyprus.


The Committee has further decided that the following books are praiseworthy and deserve Honourable Mention:

  1. Μαρία Μιχαηλίδου, Ιστορία της Προσχολικής – Προδημοτικής Εκπαίδευσης στην Κύπρο, Εκδόσεις Επιφανίου.
  2. Άννα Νεοφύτου, Λαϊκή λατρεία στην παραδοσιακή κοινωνία της Κύπρου: Οι γιορτές του Πάσχα από τις Αποκριές μέχρι την Πεντηκοστή, Εκδόσεις Κέντρου Επιστημονικών Ερευνών.


C. Lifetime Achievement Award

The Editor-in-Chief of the CR has decided, following a suggestion by the scientific committee of Political Science and History, to confer the following awards:


  • Lifetime Achievement Award to Professor Paschalis Kitromilides, Member of the Academy of Athens, for his internationally recognized and multifaceted work on Cypriot history and political affairs, as well as his work on intellectual history and Modern Greek Enlightenment.
  • Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award to the late Rina Katselli (d. May 2021), first Greek-Cypriot female MP, who authored dozens of invaluable books on the history and culture of her native Kyrenia, the last of which were published in 2020.


Details of the award ceremony will be announced in due time.


The Call for External Nominations for the 2021 Book Awards will be published in January 2022.